The schools which are going to be used as polling stations in the local elections

On May 5, council elections are being held across Wales. It will see 1,234 councillors elected, and yet more community councillors.

This year, voting isn’t just taking place on the Thursday but in some areas, a pilot is being trialled for early voting. Voters who live in these wards will be able to vote on Tuesday, May 3, and Wednesday, May 4. In Blaenau Gwent, the Ebbw Vale Learning Zone will be used as an advanced polling station for early voting on the Tuesday and Wednesday ahead of the election, which all residents in the county will be able to access. This will include students of the college, who are above the age of 16.

In Bridgend, some wards where there has traditionally been low turnout will be given the option to vote early. In these areas polling stations will be open on the Tuesday and Wednesday before election day. A school in the area will also have an advance polling station where students will be able to vote.

Read more: Bridgend MP Jamie Wallis charged with four driving offences

In both Caerphilly and Torfaen council offices in Ystrad Mynach and Pontypool will be used as an advance polling station for all residents of the county on the weekend before election day. The votes will be counted on Friday, May 6. You can see the projected times of results in our story here and all you need to know about elections here.

We asked every Welsh council whether they were closing schools to be used as polling stations, those which have not yet replied will be updated when we receive the answers.

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council

  • Deighton Primary School
  • Glanhowy Primary School
  • Coed-y-garn Primary School
  • Roseheyworth Road Campus, Abertillery
  • Tillery Street Campus Abertillery
  • Glyncoed Primary School
  • St Joseph’s PC Primary School (closed for inset day)
  • Ystruth Primary School (closed for inset day)

Bridgend County Borough Council

Cynffig Comprehensive School is being used as a polling station for pupils only. Pupils at the school who are registered to vote and live within Cornelly or Pyle, Kenfig Hill and Cefn Cribwr electoral wards will be able to cast their vote in school between 8.30am and 4.30pm on Tuesday, May 3, before polling day.

Caerphilly County Borough Council

Carmarthenshire County Council

The following schools are being used as polling stations on May 5

  • Special Needs Unit, Myrddin CP School, Carmarthen
  • Ysgol Y Felin, Ynyswen, Llanelli
  • Ysgol Y Bedol, Folland Road, Garnant
  • Hendy CP School, Hendy
  • Llangunnor Primary School, Llangunnor
  • Ceredigion County Council

    City and County of Swansea

    City of Cardiff Council

    Conwy County Borough Council

    The following schools are all open but also being used as polling stations.

    • Ysgol Gynradd Pentrefoelas, Pentrefoelas, Betws y Coed
    • Ysgol Gymunedol Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Betws y Coed
    • Ysgol Gynradd Llanddoged, Llanddoged, Llanrwst

    Denbighshire County Council

    Four schools are closing and one will remain open along with two nurseries.

    • Coed Eva – closed
    • Blenheim Road – closed
    • Greenmeadow – closed
    • Henllys church in Wales – closed
    • Woodlands – open

    Flintshire County Council

    Gwynedd Council

    Isle of Anglesey County Council

    No schools impacted.

    Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

    The following schools are being used but remain open:

    • Pantyscallog Annexe
    • Gellifaelog Primary School
    • Goetre Infants

    Monmouthshire County Council

    Neath Port Talbot Council

    Four school are being used as polling stations and inset days are being held in three.

    • Blaen Baglan Primary School
    • Rhydyfro Primary School
    • Coed Hirwaun Primary School
    • Awel-y-Mor Primary School – community room being used for election

    Newport City Council

    Pembrokeshire County Council

    Powys County Council

    Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

    Torfaen County Borough Council

    Vale of Glamorgan Council

    Wrexham County Borough Council

    Source link

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.